Dance!

July 11, 2008 at 8:01 am (dance, my life) (, , , , , , , , , , )

I don’t consider myself a sophisticated dance aficionado. I just like what I like. Here are a few of my favorite dance performances, kicked off by Neatorama’s gushy praise for the Bollywood number on So You Think You Can Dance. Big ups to Neatorama for drawing my attention to it- I would have never known otherwise, which either proves or disproves that I’m an aficionado of dance. Skip to 1:15 to start the actual dance.

I’m a big fan of Bollywood dance- myself and my girl Trish were the only white girls that got to dance in my other girl Vaishali’s huge Hindi wedding back in 2002, and at Kumail’s parents’ house I get to watch a lot of Desi dance programs straight from India. I took one class in it and found that it’s severe movements just didn’t suit me. I looked like I was having a seizure. Here’s more!!

Michelle L’amour, my dance teacher in Chicago and a ridiculous knockout onstage and off, doing one of her famous fan dances.

Followed by the youtube equivalent to a cold shower, Fatboy Slim’s Praise You, starring Spike Jonze.

Madonna’s ridiculously sexy performance at the 1991 Oscars

The dance off scene from the movie Girls Just Want to Have Fun, still my favorite movie dance scene of all time.

And finally, my absolute all-time dance idol and sometimes teacher, Angie Pontani (brand new Miss Exotic World 2008!!) and her sisters as The World Famous Pontani Sisters.

Smush all those together and you’ll get the kind of dancing I want to do on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,009 other followers

