Put this one behind the…..cellar door.

February 24, 2009 at 2:58 pm (movies) (, , , , , , )

If you’re in your late 20s/early 30s, you probably have a special place in your heart for Donnie Darko.  Like a lot of you, Donnie Darko came along at a specific point in my life and it spoke to me.  I went to the rickety website and “researched” it, I rented it and watched all the special features, and I loved it.  But I watched it a year after first seeing it, and it had changed somewhat.

Or maybe I changed.

Now it seemed a bit cheesy.  Melodramatic.  Drew Barrymore just chewed up the scenery.  I saw it a year or two after that and thought it was utterly ridiculous, and wondered how I’d ever liked it, other than some of the cool imagery.  (By the way, it’s the same progression that Tori Amos holds in my heart.)

So in a move that totally makes sense and yet is horrifically asinine, the powers that be have made S. Darko: A Donnie Darko Tale.  It is a straight to DVD sequel to Donnie Darko, boasting stars like Ed “Gravel Voice” Westwick and Elizabeth “Saved By the Bell Showgirls” Berkeley, and yes, I have the trailer right after the jump.  Get ready.

S. Darko is Donnie’s younger sister Samantha in the original movie, all grown up.  I hope you’re prepared for that.

3 Comments

  1. Tatiana said,

    I totally agree with you about Tori Amos. I think the last decent album was Boys for Pele.

  2. Movietrailers9 said,

    Check Out My Movie Trailers on Youtube!

  3. e cigarettes said,

    Every time I watch a movie that I LOVED in the 80′s, I’m totally disappointed. They just don’t hold up. One of my faves was Videodrome. I watched it recently and could only think “I must have been stoned.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,991 other followers

