In my opinionation….

March 8, 2009 at 8:44 am (cool things i've found, my life, pop culture) (, , , , , , , , )

So, to jog your memory, here are the opening credits for Blossom.

Watching this clip now makes the whole thing seem horribly dated, and forced, and sooo overly precious that it crosses into parody territory and then comes back, ashamedly.

But back in the day, you know you loved this show.  I did.  I loved the show, and I coveted the skyscraper dress she wore in the opening credits, and I had a major crush on the older brother alcoholic turned EMT driver, Anthony.  This was the phase in my life when I had to have a crush on SOMEONE in every single thing I watched on TV, and even then, I was onto Joey Lawrence’s schtick, and I was not into it.  So instead, Anthony, played by Michael Stoyanov.

Hes the guy thats not the dad and not Joey.

He's the guy that's not the dad and not Joey.

Turns out I know how to pick ‘em.

Michael Stoyanov has not only been acting since 1985 (most recently seen as one of the four clown-masked thugs that helps the Joker rob the bank in the opening of The Dark Knight, what what!), but he’s also written for some of the most amazing comedy shows of all time.

Conan O’Brien.  The Dana Carvey Show (ok, so they can’t all be amazing).  MADtv.  And holy shit, Mr. Show!!!

He’s a Chicago boy that trained at Second City, and sadly, that’s kinda all I know about him.  He was married once.  He regrets leaving Blossom to write for Conan.   So come on VH1/E!/Bravo!  Give this guy a show!  I can’t imagine he spent this much time around Six and doesn’t have more stories to tell.

4 Comments

  1. Angel said,

    I had a total crush on Michael Stoyanov too! Sweet!

  2. Kristy said,

    i loved-ed blossom. wasn’t that a my little pony reference???

  3. scott lefaive said,

    i loved jenna von oy, and took a trip to imdb to make sure that i don’t still.

  4. American Heavy said,

    i had the biggest crush on him as well.him and vinnie. i did a google search and found stoyanov on facebook. he looks different. still cute but more thespian, if that makes sense. i’m so glad i found someone who shares my love of Blossom. it’s kind of a guilty pleasure i keep to myself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,021 other followers

