Gynomite’s Emotional Assignment of the Day

August 28, 2009 at 4:57 pm (gynomite's emotional assignment of the day) (, , , , , , )

Hi all!  This is a random little mental health tip, but since I’m actively using it today, I thought I’d pass it along.  It may or may not be helpful to you.  I have to use an inhaler very very rarely, and I always always forget how much it makes my heart race, which in turn stresses me out, which makes my heart race more, etc.  So to help calm myself, I am using an old trick I actually learned from a client who had panic attacks all the time.  He was always on the lookout for things that would occupy his mind without racheting up his stress level.

Name all 50 states.

That’s it.  Take out a piece of paper, and start writing.  I promise it’ll keep you occupied for at least ten minutes.  And it’s a good way to get your nervous energy funnelled into something benign.

Try it!  That’s all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,021 other followers

