Spitting on the hand that literally made her entire career

October 26, 2009 at 11:33 am (music) (, , , , )

This song is great, huh?  Most people know that Prince wrote it, I’m not bending any minds with that factoid.  But I was wondering today how those two ever collaborated, as they seem like they live in different universes.  So I looked it up, and holy shit do they have history.  Click to read it.

In a 2007 interview, the always weirdly angry Sinead told the Mirror:

“I met him twice when Nothing Compares 2 U was a hit,” she recalls. “At the time he had a lot of female protégées and I had covered his song without having anything to do with him. He invited me to his house in Los Angeles and started to give out to me for swearing in interviews. When I told him to go f*** himself he got very upset and became quite threatening, physically. I ended up having to escape.”

But he’s such a small guy.

“He can pack a punch,” she says. “A few blows were exchanged. All I could do was spit. I spat on him quite a bit.”

In 2005 when someone yelled out “PRINCE!” during one of her concerts, she yelled “Fuck that fucking midget!”

I think I like Charlie Murphy’s Prince story better.  Any story that ends in pancakes, really.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,010 other followers

