On feminine hygiene and advertising.

March 28, 2010 at 7:11 pm (commercials) (, , )

A few years ago, fuddy-duddy feminine hygiene company Tampax released a hip new product called Tampax Pearl.  Tampax Pearl tampons had plastic applicators (rather than phooey old cardboard) and plastic wrappers, rather than paper.  They were literally the exact same product.

Why am I telling you this?

Two nights ago I bought this package of regular old Tampax.

It’s regular Tampax, but hey, why does it say “Tampax Pearl” on the top of the package?

If you can’t read it, it says “Next time, try TAMPAX PEARL”.  In French and English.  Nice bilingual false advertising guys!

4 Comments

  1. kendallmck said,

    Actually instead of Tampax Pearl, next time try this:

    http://www.divacup.com/

    I just changed your life. You can thank me later.

  2. Kelly said,

    I can second the Diva Cup! Works much better than pads or tampons and better for the environment. I’ve been using it for almost two years now.

  3. Nora Rocket said,

    Another denizen of the Diva Cup, here. I’ve using it for seven years and it changed the way I relate to my period. Consider it!

  4. Cora said,

    FML wish I read this before. I bought the SAME thing in stores and it really pissed me off. I cannot use the crap cardboard ones and the tips aren’t “smooth” as the back of the box claims, either. What a waste.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,023 other followers

