Some kind of divining rod.

August 4, 2011 at 10:06 am (movies, my life)

I was already too old for Emily the Strange when she her stuff started showing up in stores around 1997, but as a punky messy trying-too-hard goth girl, you can’t help but feel some kinship to a product that seems to be aimed directly at you. Kinship and a sneaking suspicion that you’re being made fun of.

Here’s the brief list of “Emily” stuff I owned:

A boy gave me a faux-leather arm cuff that said “Emily the Strange?” (the question mark killed me- is it a question? You’ve made it clear that it’s not up for debate.) and a t-shirt of Emily curled up, asleep, with demons flying around her. The shirt read “Emily’s dreams are your worst nightmares”. I loved that shirt, and loved wearing it, but was horrified to learn that most people didn’t realize that Emily the Strange was a brand, and instead just thought I got a random shirt personalized to say my name. And good lord, the horror of having people think that I saw a shirt that said “______’s dreams are your worst nightmares” and went out of my way to make it say my name!? I had to stop wearing it. I ignored all subsequent notebooks, lunchboxes, and other accoutrements.

I haven’t thought about Emily stuff in years, until today when I saw that, of course, they’re making Emily the Strange into a movie starring Chloe Moretz, aka HitGirl from Kickass.

From Film School Rejects:

There’s not much known about its plot at this point, but it will reportedly “tell the origin of the punk and gothic figure and how she comes to gain her abilities that fuse technology and imagination.” Also, there appears to be a heavy emphasis on Emily’s four cats (Sabbath, Nee-Chee, Miles, and Mystery).

If this movie had come out in 2000, it might have had a chance, but I’m skeptical. Those of us who actually dug Emily the Strange at her heydey are too old for this now, and the target market for Emily now is probably just confused by her early 00s sentiments.

But I’ll probably still see it.

1 Comment

  1. Clinton Trucks said,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,991 other followers

