Critiques.

July 17, 2012 at 8:27 am (my life, Uncategorized)

After a long week of getting threatening tweets and messages about certain cultural controversies that shall remain unnamed, I opened up our Indoor Kids email to find a message from a dude who wants us to know that he was not happy with us doing _______ on our show and informed us that we need to stop.

For whatever reason, this has hit me in exactly the right place at exactly the right time, so I’d like to say this:

We’re not making this podcast or webshow tailored to your specifications.

I don’t write to your specifications.

That’s all.

If you think parts of our show suck, or parts of my writing suck, so be it. I wish it could make you completely happy, but it never will- I don’t think any one thing will ever satisfy anyone completely. There will always be ways to improve, and I’m not so arrogant to think I couldn’t use improvement, but suggestions (and reviews, god help us) are a long way from tsk tsk judgement and “you’re doing it wrong because I don’t like it” messages.

Please feel free to make suggestions, especially if they come from a logical and not-knee-jerk place, but also please understand that I will most likely ignore them. Maybe at some point later down the line they’ll come into my sphere of being and I’ll make an adjustment, but trust me, you wouldn’t want to see a world in which I made anything based on consumer suggestions. I tend to turn into a sullen teenager when given “requirements”.

And if you think the majority of our show or my writing sucks, why are you reading it? Seriously, stop hate consuming, it just makes you miserable.

I’ve watched people harangue good friends of mine who happen to be on very very popular podcasts, saying things like “I’m disappointed in you for doing ________” or “The guy I love would never say _________”.  I recently had someone write me and tell me that they were deeply upset by a recent post I did about something I was passionate about. I was happy with the post. But that’s the thing: why are you disappointed? Are you upset that the person you have come to know through the things they present to the world has a different opinion than the one you would have chosen for them?

Well, that’s too bad. Every single one of us is entitled to opinions that don’t fit our own world views, shitty thoughts, bad days, brilliant moments, oversharing, and every single one of us is entitled to being wrong in everyone else’s eyes.

To put me in my place, go out there and make a podcast or write something that is completely you and completely badass. I promise, I’ll do my best to be the one slow-clapping you in the corner, even if I think most of what you’re saying is bullshit.

6 Comments

  1. Erin said,

    You know, I’ve listened to pretty much every podcast you guys have done and I may not agree with everything you guys say all the time, but I always appreciate that both you and Kumail seem open to contrasting viewpoints and intelligent discussion which seems hard to find in the gaming culture sometimes.

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    P.S. Your episode with Adam Sessler may be my favorite so far. Such a great, smart conversation.

  2. Michael A. said,

    Here’s the thing, people suck. And not in an overly general, everyone is a dick, way. We all genuinely suck. Part of the problem being that we want all of our entertainment tailored directly to our own specifications, especially if said entertainment comes from a ridiculously niche source, like the internet. Another factor is this overwhelming feeling amongst consumers that we are owed something for our consumption of your free and excellent product, we are not. You owe us nothing other than what originally drew us to you in the first place. Your kick-ass opinions, your insightful view points, even your corny jokes(or not so corny). Lastly there is one last factor, the unfortunate side effect of podcasts in general is the feeling that the listener is part of the conversation, most of us listen in solitary, whether on head phones or in the car, but generally alone. We BECOME part of the group, albeit in our own minds, and for some reason think that gives us the entitlement to foist our opinions on you. It’s not fair, but I think it happens. Now, having just called out humanity for being dicks, I can only speak for myself when I say, “Keep doing what you’re doing, it’s awesome, and I look forward to it every week. Thank you, for your content, your commitment, and for sharing of yourself with lowly schlubs like me.”

  3. M.H. said,

    Wow. Such a respectful and logical argument. Why aren’t there more of you in the World Wide Web?

  4. Laura Q said,

    I don’t want to word-vomit about how much I really like (love) your blog and the Indoor Kids, but I really do appreciate it! Don’t let internet turds get to you.

  5. M said,

    If everyone was blandly content with everything you did, nothing in this world would be interesting. It would be boring and not worth writing about either way. Keep doing what you’re doing! We love it!

  6. bluesky161 said,

    More Emily = better … always :) You are awesome – and they should stop listening if they don’t like it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,023 other followers

